One comment on “School Chaplaincy Program

  1. There’s reason across the big, blue pond too, Jim. I think you folks are right to question this program and present practical alternatives. Having been a theist and now non-theist chaplain I will say that a truly inclusive chaplaincy CAN work, but these are very difficult to find, create or maintain (see the Humanist Chaplaincy at Harvard for example). I liked what I saw in Chaplains without Borders, there in AUS, but these have to be delicately balanced to serve everyone without preaching. “Presence work” can be done by non-theists as well, but I agree that secular counselors can do that for the most part. I could say more about what I consider the value of Chaplaincy, but I’ll just commend your voices there and hope more of that reasonable thinking swims over here to the big, dumbed-down “Christian Nation”!

Leave a comment